First Regiment

Say hello and show off your bbDKP examples here ;)
Forum rules
caution, make sure your links work. posts with invalid urls will be deleted.
AJH
Farmhand
Farmhand

First Regiment

Post by AJH » 26 Aug 2016, 04:27

Hi all. I'm a professional software developer and PVE/Technical GM of First Regiment, a community focused PVP/PVE hybrid guild of about 150 players on Velen/Eonar US.

I previously was the IT Director for wiicafe.com/gamecubecafe.com and was the technical developer behind the Planetside server community site EmeraldNC. I was the developer of one of the main Teamspeak 2/PHPBB2 integration mods and am also the developer of the PHPBB 3.1 Battle.net oAuth plugin and the Battle.net oAuth support in the Lusitanian PHP oAuth library (AJH16 on Github). I have a Teamspeak 3/PHPBB 3.0 integration addon as well, though it was not released with PHPBB.com due to requiring some DB hacks that are not approved for addons (though if anyone wants to make use of it, feel free to PM me). I'm also a moderator on Stack Exchange's Video Production, Sound Design and Community Management sites.

I've been using bbDKP as the foundation for my guild's automation suite since shortly before Warlords started. I am running a heavily modified variant of the phpbb 3.0 addon. I do not actually make use of the DKP functionality, but rather use the Armory integration and roster management for guild management automation.

The process starts when a player registers on the forum. When they click the e-mail activation link, they are taken automatically to a modified form of the character add screen, however I have replaced character addition with oAuth functionality that queries the user's battle.net account for the characters in guild. From there, the system automatically updates group based on the highest ranked toon in guild. This group membership is also updated every 5 minutes in a batch update.